An old Cherokee chief was teaching his grandson about life.

“A fight is going on inside me,” he told the child. “It is a terrible fight between two wolves. One wolf is fear, anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, hatefulness and lies. The other wolf is joy, peace, love, hope, humbleness, kindness, friendship, generosity, faith and truth.”

“This same fight is going on inside of you, and inside every other person, too,” said the chief.

The boy thought about it for a minute. Then he asked. “Which wolf will win?”

“The one you feed,” answered the Cherokee.

 

Today I feed the wolf of happiness by listing some things I am grateful for.

I am grateful for…

 

  • How wonderful it feels to take a hot bath/shower after a night of dancing or a day cleaning the house.
  • For having a bus stop a couple houses away
  • For working only blocks from museums where I can go to sit on a bench and become rejuvinated by my favorite works of art during lunch breaks or after work. It sure saves me a lot of money trying to save up to buy such kinds of things.
  • For having a talented friend who helps me get my “art buying” fix by letting me commission a piece of original art at a price within my budget. I value her work above that of any museum collection because it is mine, because I can enjoy it daily and because her creations make me smile and relax and because the pieces remind me of her.
  • For getting to lie on the floor in a music practice room Friday night and listen to my friends play paino and french horn duets. For the way the music enveloped me in a rich and soft cloud of sound.
  • For being able to relive my childhood through my goddaughter. Who else can I get to color in a coloring book with me, or play Mr. Potato head, or pretend to do my hair?
  • For Amber making me feel sooo very loved by always wanting to sit on my lap, show me her new outfit and for the times she runs up for a hug while hollering my name in glee. yay.
  • For 4th year birthdays, ice cream cookie sundaes and birthday crowns.
  • And last but not least, I am grateful for having a most excellent life. My heart overflows with hapiness and joy.

Hapiness does not create a greateful heart, a greatful heart creates hapiness.

What are you grateful for?

 

 

 

