I was very excited to have plans to go see the movie Dark Knight tonight at the IMAX theatre in Virginia. But silly me didn’t plan ahead and buy tickets. Now it seems that the theater is sold out solid through Sunday afternoon.

I might end up settling to go see it at a regular theater tonight but it will be hard to hide my disappointment.

You see the IMAX experience for me goes back to my childhood when my family, nearly once a month, would trek down to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum (which for a long time I thought was the Erin Space museum) to see a show in the IMAX theatre.

I remember how my stomach used to tighten when the screen showed astronauts training, people skydiving or planes diving. I remember how the theatre always played Pachelbel’s Cannon in D major over and over again while the audience filed into the theatre. And how by the time I was 10, I had every note and part in that song memorized.

In fact, I believe that one of the reasons why I adore flying so much is because it reminds me of the wonderful feeling of soaring over the land that I used to get watching the IMAX films.

So, yes, I am dissapointed I won’t get to see an adult-ish movie as an adult in a type of theatre that brought me much joy in my youth. Perhaps I will still go see it there on a later date.

Ah well, lunch break is over. I must return to the world of my adult life now.

