Coming back from covering a Senate oversight hearing this afternoon I decided to catch a cab because it had started to sprinkle. I usually walk over to Union Station and catch the metro back to the office but I didn’t want to get the work laptop wet, so I cabbed it.

Got in the cab. A few seconds later what did I hear but one of my favorite hymns coming over the radio. “This is one of my favorite songs” I said and the cabby turned it up.  In truth, it’s a song I often sing when I’m facing hard times and I’m having a tough time putting the situation in God’s hands.

The two of us quietly sung along. I could hear the soft rumbling of his voice in perfect pitch but I couldn’t tell if he was singing in English or not.

“Do you know the story of the song?” I asked.
“Yes,” he said. “It’s a beautiful story.  But I don’t know if I could be like that. If I had lost my wife and kid I don’t know that I could sing that kind of a song.”
“I guess you’d have to have the constitution of Job and trust that God knew what he was doing,” I said. “Yes,” he replied. 

With all that is going on with my grandma I thought it was just what I needed to hear to have a little peace in my heart. If you were the one praying I would find peace today, thank you. It worked.

Here are the lyrics. If you know it, feel free to hum along.

It is well with my Soul

When peace like a river attendeth my way
when sorrows like seabillows roll
whatever my lot
thou has taught me to say,
it is well,  it is well with my soul

refrain: it is well (men: it is well) with my soul (with my soul). All: it is well, it is well with my soul

Though satan should buffet, though trials should come
let this blest assurance control,
that Christ has regarded my  helpless estate,
and hath shed his own blood for my soul

(refrain)

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
my sin, not in part but the whole…
is nailed to the cross,
and I bear it no more
praise the lord, praise the lord, o my soul!

(refrain)

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight
the clouds be rolled back like a scroll
the trumpet shall resound,
and the lord shall descend
even so, it is well with my soul

(refrain)

Even so, it is well with my soul.

(Thank you Lord, signed, your humble servant, Esther)

