Today I was back at work and pumping out stories by the hour to make up for the missed day. I’m still a little tired, but I think that’s because I’ve been working my butt off for the past nine hours. I came in at 7:30 a.m. today so I could leave at 5 to go to a concert tonight and still have caught up on writing stories.

I look out the window and against the tan brick background of the building accross the road I can see the small water drops being herded by the wind toward the south. Oh man, I hope it’s not raining out in Virginia tonight during the Jethro Tull concert.

Today I was invited to go on a three day cruise of the Bahamas in early January for a bachelorette party of the fiance of an x-boyfriend . . . a long-ago X, who is now a good friend of mine. I adore them both and think they are just perfect for each other, so of course I could not pass up on an opportunity to get to know my friend’s fiance a little bit better and to have fun on a cruise with a bunch of ladies. Because it’s a weekend cruise I won’t have to worry much about taking a lot of vacation time either. I’ve never been on a cruise before (that is, an overnighter) so I’m also really thrilled at the idea of crossing that adventure off of my “before I die” to-do list….not to be confused with my “50 things to do in the next 10 years” list.

As for my August resolutions, I’ve been pretty good so far. Granted, it’s only been 24 hours since I made them. I had a rice noodle vegetable soup lunch and I’ve been keeping up with my water intake.

I’ve also decided to be “dry” (think prohibition) for at least the rest of the month, just to see what, if anything happens or changes. Depending on what I discover (and how much I’m willing to share), I’ll probably update on that area at some point too.

Ok for something new today, I couldn’t help but laugh outloud at two things I checked out during my lunch break. First is today’s blog on DC Damsel. If you’ve ever used an online dating website service this will have you ROFL. It’s all so true, especially when it comes to the part about drinking in D.C.

http://www.dcdamsel.com/2008/08/online-dating-in-dc-part-one/

The other one is a video of Paris Hilton’s¬†response to McCain (ahem, I mean white haired old man)¬†for his recent use of her image in his ads. “See you at the Whitehouse bitch” made me laugh loud enough to have to then share the video with my co-workers.

http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/64ad536a6d

