I have a new favorite DC restaurant: Sticky Rice — where you can get a bucket of tater tots and a plate of sushi at the same time.

PhotobucketSticky Rice, located near 12th and H street NE, is a two-storey restaurant with a fresh sushi bar and a well-stocked wet bar.

The restaurant opened in DC about three months ago.

Oh and did I mention they have karaoke until 2 a.m. on Tuesdays. If you go, look for someone (that would be me) singing under the alias “Ma Bell.”

The menu has an eclectic mix of Pan-Asian entrees, with vegan and gluten-free options. The menu items are also very reasonably priced.

And you can’t have the full “Sticky Rice” experience without trying a bucket of spicy tater tots.

I wasn’t really hungry so I had miso soup, a side of edimame, Philly sushi roles and I devoured some tater tots. Everything was delicious.

The experience was even better because I had Sabre and Jason as my dinner mates.

Jason, who was in town for the day, recommended the place. He knows one of the owners. He’s from Richmond, Virginia where the first Sticky Rice is located.

After we finished eating, we went to Café Saint-Ex to met up with a friend who is a flight attendant for United who was in D.C. for the night. By the end of the night our group had made tentative plans to go to Rome together in November on some of Greg’s discount flight vouchers. Yay!!!

Photobucket

(Picture: from left: Sabre, Greg, me, and Jason)

