I’ve been generally avoiding thinking too hard about what’s happening to the financial world, that is, when I’m not busy reporting on it or watching the ticker plummet every time someone in DC opens their mouth on TV.

More specifically, I’ve been avoiding checking my 401K.

I keep telling myself that I’m young and so I should research some companies and invest like hell. In fact, I remember that when I was in my investment-crazy phase about 10 years ago, I often wished the stock market would tumble so I could buy some valuable stocks for cheap and get MAD wealthy when the market rebounds.

But mass mentality is hard to fight. I find myself trying to keep from withdrawing cash from my savings account and curling into a tiny ball in the corner of my room with a wad of bills cradled in my arms.

Anyway, if there’s one thing I’ve learned as a journalist, it’s that you either cry or laugh.  As a proper journalist, I resort to dark and twisted humor about the hell we have to cover.

So I’m going to give you two twisted treats tonight.

One is a picture a girl took of the Bull on Wall Street. Boring? Not this time…. someone painted the bull’s balls blue.

The other is a joke I heard on NPR last night when a reporter was interviewing a wall street broker. He said there has been a lot of humor on the trading floor, but it’s all be twisted and dark.

He said an ongiong joke on the floor is….

“What are the two best positions to be in to ride out the market crunch?”
Anser: “Cash and fetal.”

I couldn’t help but chuckle.

