I fully intend to blog about my Euro trip but this is not the week for that to happen.

Why?

For starters, I came back from Belgium with one hell of a head cold and sore throat. Ug.

Moreover, this week will be/has been crazy for me.

Work:I have two huge enterprise writing projects due in addition to a major commission meeting to cover and eight other stories.

Music: I have a choir dress rehearsal for Mendelssohn’s Elijah Wednesday night (so I can’t stay late at work) at the Kennedy Center.

Social: And then this weekend will be filled with an early Saturday dress rehearsal followed by two house parties only to turn around and hope my voice holds out until I sing the concert Sunday.

Somewhere in there I’d like to clean up the apartment for my brother (coming from Utah next week) and sister (coming from Nebraska on Friday). I also need to buy housewarming gifts and a long list of other things. EEEEEEk.

But here’s where the bannanna hits the fan and splatters on the wall in an obscene mess.
I won’t have a usable phone until Friday.

Why?

Because I dropped my Treo in water one day and then surface cleaning detergent the next daythe week before my Euro trip. The combined effect leaves the quality of my phone touch screen looking like a mix between a tie-dyed T-Shirt mixed with van Gogh’s “Starry Night.”

Worse, my phone has decided to go on strikeand it won’t hold a charge for more than 5 minutes. This leaves me with enough time to check for txt messages and maybe respond to one or two before it shuts down. URGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!

Anyone who knows me should be able to appreciate how much I rely on that phone for everything: my schedule, to do list, social life, work assignments, checking emails, etc. And after spending a week in withdrawal from my Treo in Europe, I’m craving the phone now more than ever.

Why wait until Friday to replace the phone from hell? Because I don’t want to pay $50 to replace the crappy phone under my insurance only to buy a Blackberry Storm (a touch-screen PDA said to rival the iPhone) for $99 (after rebate, corp discounts and Verizon credit).

I’m telling you that Friday can’t come fast enough (wait, strike that becuase I need time to write my stories, do my chores and hear back from my sources).

