I’ve chosen the days that I will take a retreat and spend a week (ok 5 weekdays) in silence:  Monday, June 8 through Friday, June 12.

It’s the perfect time, two weeks after the Master Chorale of Washington’s farewell luncheon and immediately following the wedding of two friends in Las Vegas.

I’ve also narrowed my retreat location down to three places where there is silence observed (with only one or two designated places to talk in each facility). Also, I’ve called/emailed each place to start off the process of making reservations:

1. the Desert House of Prayer in the Sonoran Desert outside Tucson, Arizona.

*provides stark beauty, high temperatures and group meditations (voluntary participation in anything). $50/night for room and board (vegetarian too I think)

2. Mepkin Abbey in Moncks Corner, South Carolina

*provides a garden like location near bodies of water, free room and board (vegetarian meals)–donations accepted

3. The Abbey of Gethsemani in Trappist, Kentucky

*provides a garden like location surrounded by woods, free room and board (vegetarian meals)–donations accepted

