BeadforLife, a non-profit organization that sells recycled paper beaded jewelry made by women in Uganda, was on PBS last night on “The NewsHour” with Jim Lehrer.  Check the segment  out online.

Note:  in addition to paying the women upfront for their jewelry, all donations and sales profits go into community development projects to give the women the tools they need to lift themselves out of poverty.

I’m a community partner with BeadforLife, meaning I represent BeadforLife in the DC, Maryland and Virginia area. I’ve been with BeadforLife for four years as a volunteer. I get a special warm joy in my heart every time I have the opportunity to sell the jewelry and tell the stories of these incredible Ugandan women.

p.s. I’m always on the lookout for “affordable” local events where I can have a BeadforLife sales/info booth or where I can give a power point presentation about BeadforLife and what each of us can do to make a difference.

I’m also always on the look out for people who are willing to help me with the booth during events.

If you know of any local upcoming festivals, symposiums, conferences where I might be welcome, please send me a note.

Also, if you want to help me make a difference also send me a note and tell me you’d like to volunteer for a BeadforLife event.

And thanks for stopping by my blog.

